Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for June 20th, 2007

War… and Peace?

I was randomly surfing through Boing Boing’s insanely cluttered roads whilst pretending to look busy at work, when i came across one of the most deeply moving articles on the Iraqi War.

The article, aptly titled “Last Photographs” was written by Ashley Gilbertson and printed in the Summer 2007 issue of the VQR Journals. As the title suggests, this was a write up on the last photographs taken by the photograher before the individual characters met with their death. Gilbertson’s thoughtful article stands out because he concludes his write up on a very personal level. And that in my opinion is what jounalism should be all about, stories to pique the imagination, with apt photos that offer a glimpse into the conditions so far from home.

doggone

As Gilbertson says:

Covering the war used to make me feel like I was doing something important, but I have grown to accept that Americans will not stop dying because I take their pictures; sectarian violence won’t end because I photographed one woman’s death; and abuse won’t stop because I witnessed the aftermath of one interrogation. I’m just recording history now, documenting the decline, in the hope that the people who don’t recognize it now may one day look back at my pictures and see the war for the mistake-riddled quagmire it was—and is. In the meantime, I’ll continue to struggle with how to define the conflict in Iraq without letting it define me.

So, if you have 10 minutes to spare, you can read the article here.

Read Full Post »